A new version of the window to make and edit schedules has been released. This brings many new features with it. The new features are described below.
New Dispatcher Functionality:
The system will allow a user or resource changes even if the schedule is started. Previously there was no ability to change the user, and resources could not be changed if the schedule was started.
One of the most significant enhancements is the new association between aircraft (or boat) and instructor schedules for booking lessons. If an aircraft is booked with an instructor, these 2 schedules will be linked. This means that both schedules will be retrieved whenever one or the other is clicked on for editing. The system will still allow the times to be offset.
The organization also has the ability to turn on a new lesson override feature. This feature would allow a user to schedule an aircraft with an instructor, even if the user has expired dates, is not current, and is not checked out. Both schedules can be modified, or their is an option to cancel either schedule or both. If the user books a lesson and later tries to cancel the instructor, the system will not allow the cancellation of the instructor unless the user meets all of the criteria to schedule the aircraft without an instructor. However, the system will allow the user to change the instructor. You can turn the lesson override on in the Group Options screen with the checkbox labeled 'Override various rules when scheduling lesson' in the Scheduling section.
The system will not offer a standby option for the primary resource or instructor if the user is not qualified for the primary resource on their own. And, if the user is qualified, and the system is making a standby for one of the 2 schedules, the schedules will not be linked as a lesson.
If a dispatcher is attempting to cancel the instructor for the lesson, they will be warned if the user does not meet the criteria for scheduling without an instructor. However, the dispatcher will have the ability to confirm and continue cancelling the instructor.
Repeat Scheduling w/lessons:
When booking an aircraft/boat and instructor together as a series, similar rules and features apply as when booking a single lesson. When scheduling a series of lessons, we want all schedules made to be lessons. Therefore, if there is a conflict with either resource in the lesson, both schedules for that day will be skipped (unless the override option is selected). Standby schedules are not an allowed option when scheduling repeating lessons since the other resource may never become available. If you want full flexibility on skipping single schedules in the series or using standby schedules, then it is recommended that you book them as 2 separate series.
When clicking on one of the schedules in a lesson series, both series will be retrieved for edit. Either or both series can be cancelled. However, if the user is not qualified without the instructor (assuming a lesson override may have been used to book the lesson), the system will not allow the instructor series to be cancelled without the entire lesson series being cancelled (i.e. both resources). A dispatcher can confirm if they want to override the warning.
New icons for cancelling schedules:
When editing a schedule, you will see a red X button to the right of each schedule being edited. This is to cancel a single schedule. There is a button labeled 'Delete Lesson' which will cancel both schedules in the lesson. If the schedule was part of a series, you will also see a double red X button to the right of each schedule. This button will cancel all schedules in the series starting with the one that was clicked on.
Comments/messages can now be added to a schedule when creating or editing the schedule. If there are multiple schedules being added or edited as in a lesson or series, the message will apply to all schedules being edited. The message (along with the destination) can be viewed from the schedule view while hovering over the schedule.
There is a new calendar link on the schedule, which will allow you to export your schedule into another calendar. Instructors can also export any of their instructor schedules.
The system will now gather multiple warnings that would prevent a user from scheduling instead of stopping at the first one. A dispatcher can choose to confirm and continue making the schedule. (Note: A dispatcher will only see the warnings if they have the confirmation feature turned in in the Group Options page. If the confirmation feature is not on, the system would override the rules for dispatchers and not display the warnings.)
Recurring Schedule/Cancel notifications... When a schedule is edited, but the resource remains the same, the system will send a new EDIT notification instead of both a SCHEDULE and CANCEL. If the resource changes, the system will send the SCHEDULE and CANCEL as it currently does.
Series recurring notification... A new series edit notification will be sent for series edits if the resource is not changed. If the resource is changed in the edit, a new series SCHEDULE notification and a new series CANCEL notifications will be sent. (Previously only a single notification was sent out for series edit/cancel with only schedule information related to the first schedule.)
Dispatcher cancel notifications will not be sent if the cancel is part of an edit. Users will be notified if their schedule is completely cancelled or overlaid by a dispatcher.
Maintenance notification is sent to sysops and resource sysops if maintenance is scheduled by general user. Maintenance notification is also sent to all users whose schedules are overlaid by the maintenance schedule.
User Status Link:
Page for making and editing schedules has a new link labeled 'Show user status'. This will pop up a page that shows the status of things affecting the user's ability to schedule, such as a medical date, flight review date, or account balance. It also has checkouts and currency.
24 Hour Clock Format:
There is a new option to use a 24 hour clock format instead of the current 12 hour AM/PM format. This option will be reflected in the screen for making schedules and will soon also be reflected in other pages. Contact Time Sync to switch to this option.
The list of destination options is now configurable. If you would like a custom list, just send us an email with your list of destination choices. Also, if your organization does not need destination information and would like a different field stored with the schedule, the destination label can also be renamed.