How does the Squawk Approval option work?
If an unauthorized user enters a squawk, it gets created as an unapproved squawk. That squawk will only be visible to authorized users in addition to the user that entered it until an authorized user edits the squawk, checks the ‘Approve Squawk’ checkbox, and hits OK. Unapproved squawks are indicated in the squawk list of authorized users with a red bold note that reads 'Requires Approval' as seen in the image below.
If an authorized user, such as a sysop, enters a squawk, the squawk gets created as an approved squawk. No approval process is required for sysop-entered (or other authorized) squawks.
What users are authorized to see or approve unapproved squawks?
Sysops and resource sysops are approved to view or approve unapproved squawks. If a user is subscribed to 'New Squawk' or 'Urgent Squawk' notifications, general users will only get notification of a new squawk after it is approved. Sysops or resource sysops will get notification when it is entered. If the squawk requires approval, the subject of the email will indicate that the squawk needs approval.